Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Cold Malice

This week’s Friday read is the new thriller in Quentin Bates’s Icelandic crime series, Cold Malice. Atmospheric and intricately plotted, the novel is set in the dramatic, bleak landscapes of Reykjavik and centres around Officer Gunnhildur, a police detective and single mother, who is tasked with solving Reykjavik’s most complex crimes.

This is the perfect dark and brooding thriller for fans of Jo Nesbo and Henning Mankell and you’ll learn a lot about Icelandic culture, its customs and quirks, from the novel. It’s both a gripping mystery and armchair travel for these times when we’re unable to stray far from our living rooms!

Hannah Wann