We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Merchant's House

The Merchant's House

‘A beguiling author who interweaves past and present’ The Times

DS Wesley Peterson, newly arrived in the West Country town of Tradmouth, has his hands full when a child goes missing and a young woman is brutally murdered on a lonely cliff path. Then his old friend, archaeologist Neil Watson, unearths the skeletons of a woman and a newborn baby in the cellar of an ancient merchant’s house nearby.

As they begin to investigate the murders, Wesley starts to suspect that these deaths, centuries apart, may be linked by age-old motives of jealousy and sexual obsession. And the pressure is on if he is going to prevent a further tragedy . . .

Discover your new favourite crime series by reading the first gripping mystery in the bestselling Wesley Peterson series by award-winning author Kate Ellis. The perfect page-turner for fans of Elly Griffiths and Ann Cleeves.

What readers are saying about The Merchant’s House . . .

I couldn’t stop turning the pages . . . Something about this book just hooked me!’ Goodreads Review, 5 stars

‘Superb . . . Five stars’ Reader review, 5 stars

If you like Ian Rankin, LJ Ross, Elly Griffiths and James Oswald, you will enjoy Kate Ellis’ Reader review, 5 stars

‘Gripping . . . Love how the past and present bring the story together’ Reader review, 5 stars

‘You’ll fall in love with coastal England and find yourself walking the cobbled lanes in your imagination . . . Do not miss this series!’ Reader review, 5 stars

‘The first in an outstanding series of contemporary crime fiction’ Reader review, 5 stars

‘Fantastic read’ Reader review, 5 stars

‘Compelling . . Kept you guessing from start to finish. I would highly recommend it’ Reader review, 5 stars

‘Loved it!!’ Reader review, 5 stars

Kate Ellis has certainly got a talent for story telling which can grab the imagination from the start’ Reader review, 5 stars

‘Really unputdownable’ Reader review, 5 stars

‘Gripping. Kate Ellis is my new favourite author’ Reader review, 5 stars

‘A page-turner’ Reader review, 5 stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 20th August 2020

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9780349424774

Reviews

Praise for Kate Ellis:
A beguiling author who interweaves past and present
The Times
Haunting
Independent
I loved this book . . . a powerful story of loss, malice and deception
Ann Cleeves
The chilling plot will keep you spooked and thrilled to the end
Closer
Star author. Unputdownable
Bookseller
For anyone who enjoys a traditional detective story with an intriguing historical twist . . . Ellis is a fine storyteller, weaving the past and present in a way that makes you want to read on
Peterborough Evening Telegraph