We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

An Unhallowed Grave

An Unhallowed Grave

A twisted murder mirrors a dark legend . . .

When the body of Pauline Brent is found hanging from a yew tree in a local graveyard, DS Wesley Peterson immediately suspects foul play. Then history provides him with a clue. Wesley’s archaeologist friend, Neil Watson, has excavated a corpse at his nearby dig – a young woman who, local legend has it, had been publicly hanged from the very same tree before being buried on unhallowed ground five centuries ago.

Wesley is now forced to consider the possibility that the killer knows the tree’s dark history. Has Pauline also been ‘executed’ rather than murdered, and, if so, for what crime? To catch a dangerous killer Wesley has to discover as much as he can about the victim. But Pauline appears to have been a woman with few friends, no relatives and a past she has carefully tried to hide . . .

The third gripping mystery in the DI Wesley Peterson series by award-winning crime writer Kate Ellis. The perfect page-turning mystery for fans of Elly Griffiths and Ann Cleeves.

PRAISE FOR KATE ELLIS:

‘A beguiling author who interweaves past and present’ The Times

I loved this novelAnn Cleeves

‘Haunting’ Independent

‘Unputdownable’ Bookseller

‘The chilling plot will keep you spooked and thrilled to the end’ Closer

‘A fine storyteller, weaving the past and present in a way that makes you want to read on’ Peterborough
Evening Telegraph
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 6th January 2011

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9780748126729

Reviews

A beguiling author who interweaves past and present
The Times
Haunting
Independent
I loved this novel . . . a powerful story of loss, malice and deception
Ann Cleeves
The chilling plot will keep you spooked and thrilled to the end
Closer
Praise for Kate Ellis: