Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Strangers at the Gate

Strangers at the Gate header

It’s Friday and Catriona McPherson is back with another chilling, beautifully crafted, heart-racingly twisty thriller. Strangers at the Gate is the story of a relationship’s inevitable and horrifying unravelling. It follows an Edinburgh-based couple who are offered what seems like the dream deal: new jobs and a house (in a valley town which is every bit as spooky and isolated as gothic crime fans could hope for). What seems like an opportunity for a fresh start soon turns into a nightmare when the couple witness a horrifying event, which throws everything they’ve ever known into doubt and causes them to question everything they’ve ever took for granted – including each other.

Packed to the brim with terrible secrets and shot through with a simmering feeling of dread, Strangers at the Gate is the perfect psychological thriller to curl up with on an early spring evening – and every bit as brilliant as McPherson’s previous novel, Go to my Grave. Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Karin Slaughter.

Sarah Murphy