We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Paperback / ISBN-13: 9781408725993

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 25th April 2024

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

IF YOU WERE HOOKED ON THE TRAITORS, YOU WON’T WANT TO MISS A GAME OF LIES… THE TWISTY SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING THRILLER AND NO.1 KINDLE BESTSELLER


They say the camera never lies.
But on this show, you can’t trust anything you see.


Seven reality show contestants arrive in the Welsh mountains to compete for a life-changing prize, not realising what they’re truly signing up for.

Each stranger has a secret – and the show will force them to expose one another live on air.

It’s not long before things take an even darker turn, and Detective Ffion Morgan is summoned to untangle the truth behind the scenes.

And when a murderer strikes, every one of Ffion’s suspects has an alibi . . . and a secret worth killing for.

‘Twisty and clever’ Karin Slaughter
‘Clever plot and smart, sharp writing’ Shari Lapena
‘Packed with suspects, twists and turns’ Alex Michaelides
‘The very definition of a page-turner’ Sarah Pearse
‘DC Ffion Morgan is fearless, fiery and funny’ T.M. Logan
‘Dark, devilish, witty and wonderful’ Chris Whitaker
‘Wickedly fun’ Lucy Clarke
‘Engaging characters and buckets of tension’ BA Paris
‘A taut whodunnit that will keep you guessing’ Jane Fallon

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Compulsive, thrilling and just so beautifully done
LISA JEWELL
Gripping, tense and an absolute delight
WOMAN'S WEEKLY
Twisty and clever, with layered characters, A Game of Lies takes readers to some very dark places. Another deeply enjoyable mystery from a talented storyteller
KARIN SLAUGHTER
Superb. Devilishly clever, with echoes of Agatha Christie
PATRICIA CORNWELL
Seven reality show contestants are stranded in the Welsh mountains, and the name of the game is to expose their secrets. Then, one goes missing . . . Twisty
CRIME MONTHLY
PRAISE FOR A GAME OF LIES
-
Ffion is back! With a fresh case and a brilliant cast of reality TV wannabes entering the Welsh mountains, the stage is set for another gripping mystery. Sharply written, wickedly fun, and smartly plotted - A Game of Lies is a joy from beginning to end
LUCY CLARKE
I can't stop thinking about it
LIANE MORIARTY
I loved everything about this book - a brilliant, high-concept thriller with plot twists that made me gasp, and wonderful characters that had me laughing out loud and wincing in horror. I was rooting for DC Ffion Morgan and Dave the Dog so hard I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. It is of course, superbly plotted, paced and written, but it is the characters that set this above most crime series, and I can't wait to find out what happens next
JO CALLAGHAN
This brilliantly plotted whodunnit kept me guessing from the first page to the last. A Game of Lies is expertly paced and the writing flawless. Detective Ffion Morgan is a breath of fresh air - clever, witty and passionate about her job and a joy to spend time with! The very definition of a page turner
SARAH PEARSE
PRAISE FOR CLARE MACKINTOSH
-
We were gripped from the opening chapter. Clare Mackintosh's A Game of Lies is just brilliant!
THAT'S LIFE
A reality show akin to Survivor turns into a nightmare . . . Well-structured (and featuring a very good dog!), this is a sure hit for Mackintosh devotees
ELLE
So many jaw-dropping twists and turns
LUCY FOLEY
A Game of Lies has everything; a clever plot, a glorious setting, engaging characters and buckets of tension. What more could you want?
BA PARIS
If you thought reality TV couldn't get any worse, meet Exposure. The fabulous Ffion Morgan is back in this taut whodunnit that will keep you guessing
JANE FALLON
Clare Mackintosh is a genius
FIONA CUMMINS
With her trademark twists and turns, Clare Mackintosh entertains brilliantly in this exciting new thriller
MY WEEKLY
Mackintosh is just getting better and better with every book
PETER JAMES
Fans of Clare Mackintosh have something great to look forward to. Deeply rooted in the glorious Welsh countryside, Ffion is the sparky bilingual cop you didn't know you needed and now she's investigating a death in a reality game show, but is it a game or a trap? Another hit!
LIZ NUGENT
No one writes a twist like Clare Mackintosh
PAULA HAWKINS
A propulsive and topical thriller set against the beautiful backdrop of the Welsh mountains - fearless, fiery and funny DC Ffion Morgan is fast becoming my new favourite cop
T.M. LOGAN
She's a major talent
LEE CHILD
Another cracking read from an author who knows how to keep a reader gripped
BELFAST TELEGRAPH
Dark, devilish, witty and wonderful. A Game of Lies is a frantic, twisting, mystery yet filled with humour and heart
CHRIS WHITAKER
You won't be able to put it down
CHAT MAGAZINE
Ingeniously plotted and deliciously original, this complex crime thriller explores the lies that bind us together - and tear us apart
WOMAN'S OWN
Absolutely BRILLIANT
MARIAN KEYES
Arresting, ingenious
SUNDAY TIMES
Tightly plotted and meticulously paced, packed with suspects, twists and turns, A Game of Lies is Clare Mackintosh at her best. It's everything you want from a thriller - and then some. Hugely enjoyable
ALEX MICHAELIDES
A classic whodunit meets reality TV in this twisty and clever page-turner . . . A far richer read than the average police procedural - but without ever sacrificing the procedural bit, which twists unguessably along
READER'S DIGEST
What great fun this book is - clever plot, engaging characters, and smart, sharp writing. An absolute delight. Perfect for fans of Richard Osman
SHARI LAPENA