We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

How to Kidnap the Rich

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781408713327

Price: £14.99

ON SALE: 6th May 2021

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

How to Kidnap the Rich roars with brilliance, freshness and so much heart’ KEVIN KWAN

‘Fans of My Sister the Serial Killer, Parasite and Crazy Rich Asians will be enthralled by this riotous tale’ COSMOPOLITAN

‘A satire, a love story and a thriller, How to Kidnap the Rich is a rollercoaster of a read’ STYLIST

Ramesh has a simple formula for fame and success: find a wealthy kid, make him a star and create an elaborate scheme to extort money from his parents, what could go wrong?

As a self-styled ‘examinations consultant’, Ramesh is the cog in the wheel that keeps India’s middle classes thriving. When he takes an exam for Rudi – an intolerably lazy but rich teenager – he accidently scores the highest mark in the country and propels Rudi into stardom.

What next?
Blackmail. Reality television. Grotesque wealth.

And after that?
Kidnap. Double-kidnap. Reverse kidnap.

In a studio filled with hot lights, with millions of eyes on the boys, and a government investigator circling, the entire country begins to question: who are they?

Reviews

White Tiger meets Caddyshack the movie in Raina's lively novel, brimming with rat-a-tat-tat wit, breezy prose and a keen observation of colorism, casteism and social inequity. Unputdownable!
Alka Joshi, NYT bestselling author of The Henna Artist
Fans of My Sister the Serial Killer, Parasite and Crazy Rich Asians will be enthralled by this riotous tale from the very first line . . . A hugely entertaining and unique debut that satirically dissects India's inequalities
Cosmopolitan
Part crime novel, part satire on modern India and told with authenticity, razor-sharp wit and a biting turn of phrase, Rahul Raina's How to Kidnap the Rich is a book I've been waiting a long time for. I can't remember the last time I read such an assured debut. Raina writes like he's been doing this all his life. Ladies and gentlemen, it's time to welcome a new star to the world of international crime fiction
Abir Mukherjee, author of A RISING MAN
Rahul Raina's voice crackles with wit and the affecting exuberance of youth. His ripping good story grabs you on page one and doesn't let go, taking you on a monstrously funny and unpredictable wild ride through a thousand different Delhis at top speed. How To Kidnap the Rich roars with brilliance, freshness and so much heart
Kevin Kwan, author of Crazy Rich Asians
A satire, a love story and a thriller, How To Kidnap The Rich by Rahul Raina has shades of The Talented Mr Ripley that also casts an unerring eye over the huge disparity in Indian society. A rollercoaster of a read, this is going to be big
Stylist
Rahul Raina's How to Kidnap the Rich has already been optioned by HBO: a Delhi-set, reality TV-based literary crime crossover, it will appeal to fans of Parasite and Crazy Rich Asians
Daily Mail
Intelligent, witty and sublime. I'm hooked. Remember the name. You'll be hearing more of it in future
Abir Mukherjee, author of A RISING MAN
Brutally funny and fast-paced, this debut from Rahul Raina proves he is a star in the making
Nikesh Shukla