We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A Mansion for Murder

Paperback / ISBN-13: 9780349431970

Price: £8.99

ON SALE: 20th October 2022

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

The brand new novel featuring Private Investigator Kate Shackleton!

1930, Yorkshire. Intrigued by a mysterious letter from a stranger offering important information, Private Investigator Kate Shackleton arrives in the mill village of Saltaire. At nearby Milner Field mansion, overshadowed by its reputation for misfortune and untimely deaths, she expects to meet the letter writer, Ronnie Creswell.

Kate soon hears the shocking news that Ronnie has been killed. At first his death appears to be a tragic accident at the mill, but soon it becomes clear that Ronnie’s demise was no mishap. Kate is enlisted to help investigate the murder.

Kate moves into the tower rooms at Milner Field, as she tries to uncover resentments, industrial espionage, and old secrets in the close-knit village. Although she doesn’t believe in curses, she wonders what sinister truth lies behind this latest in the litany of deaths connected to the infamous Milner Field.

Then just when things couldn’t get any worse, a young girl in the village goes missing, and Kate must use all her strength and skill to unravel the mystery around the mansion once and for all . . .

Whether you’ve read the whole series, or are discovering the Kate Shackleton mysteries for the first time, this is the perfect page-turner for fans of Agatha Christie, Ann Granger and Jacqueline Winspear.

‘Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers’ Daily Mail

‘Brody’s writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive’ Ann Cleeves

‘Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine’ Ann Granger

‘Delightful’ People’s Friend

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Delightful
People's Friend
Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers
Daily Mail
Brody's excellent mystery splendidly captures the conflicts and attitudes of the time with well-developed characters
RT Book Reviews
Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive
Ann Cleeves
Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives who survived and were matured by their wartime experiences. As self-reliant women in a society that still regards them a second-class citizens, they make excellent heroines
Literary Review
Praise for Frances Brody:
The series is right up there with Miss Marple
Sunday Sport
Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine
Ann Granger
A novel that combines clever detection with a sympathetic understanding of human frailty
Daily Mail
Kate Shackleton is an engagingly forthright and indefatigable investigator
Irish Times
I really adore this series and Kate is such a strong, level-headed character
Woman's Way
Frances Brody skilfully holds our attention, making us want to read on and then look forward to the next Kate Shackleton mystery
Gazette & Herald