We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The gripping new psychological thriller from the bestselling author of THE BOOK CLUB

‘Gripping, unpredictable and immensely satisfying’ SOPHIE HANNAH, author of Haven’t They Grown

‘A dark, original and twisted story of revenge’ FIONA CUMMINS, author of When I Was Ten

‘Deliciously sinister’ ALLIE REYNOLDS, author of Shiver

‘An utterly addictive, OMG read!’ LAUREN NORTH, author of The Perfect Betrayal

‘Dark, twisting’ CLAIRE MCGOWAN, author of The Other Wife
_______________

Natalie recognises the man in the supermarket queue.

He was accused of a horrific crime. She sat on the jury that let him walk free.

The trouble is, she thinks he lied. She thinks he’s a guilty man.

And now, weeks later, here he is. In her neighbourhood.

Should she walk away and forget her suspicions?

Or should she follow him? Strike up a conversation?

Invite him into her home?

Into her bed?

HOW FAR WOULD YOU GO TO FIND THE TRUTH?

_______________

A dark, addictive thriller about obsession and revenge which will grip you from the first page to the last. Perfect for fans of Blood Orange by Harriet Tyce and You by Caroline Kepnes.

***Originally published as THE VERDICT***

What everyone is saying about C. J. Cooper:

‘I raced through it – edgy, tense’
Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange

‘I for one am terrified of the woman next door!’
Louise Candlish, author of Our House

‘Dark, twisty, claustrophobic’
Jo Spain, author of The Confession

‘The type of book that keeps you up at night’
Zoe Lea, author of The Secretary

‘Sharp and sweetly twisted’
Caroline England, author of Betray Her

‘Intricately plotted, this gripping thriller is written with great style’
Lisa Ballantyne, author of The Guilty One

‘Intuitive and addictive’
Alison Bruce, author of I Did It For Us

Reviews

A dark, twisting story with a fascinating, compelling lead
Claire McGowan
I for one am terrified of the woman next door!
Louise Candlish
Intricately plotted, this gripping thriller is written with great style and has a host of wonderful characters to be loved and hated in equal measure
Lisa Ballantyne
Clever, gripping and gutsy with an unreliable narrator who I trusted and doubted in equal measures, knowing anything could and would happen
Cath Weeks
Praise for C. J. Cooper's debut, The Book Club:
A fabulous, page-turning read . . . Highly recommended!
Caroline England
A dark, original and twisted story of revenge that is beautifully written and brilliantly executed. CJ Cooper does not put a foot wrong.
Fiona Cummins
Intuitive and addictive
Alison Bruce
I loved this book; it got me hooked right from the first page. Natalie's voice is compelling, she is such a good protagonist. Seeing the world from her viewpoint was captivating, especially when all the twists and turns began. I found myself gripped, turning the pages, not knowing what was to come next. It's the type of book that keeps you up at night, that you don't want to put down, and I raced to get to the end to see how it would all turn out
Zoe Lea
Immensely entertaining . . . grips and chills in equal measures
Cath Weeks
A sharp and sweetly twisted protagonist I couldn't help but cheer on
Caroline England
I loved this book - tightly plotted, edge-of-seat gripping
Sophie Hannah
An utterly addictive, OMG read! The main character was completely unexpected and absolute genius! Natalie will stay with me for a long time.
Lauren North
An irresistible slow descent into darkness, with twist upon twist upon twist. C.J. Cooper's page-turner debut kept on surprising me right to the end
Catriona McPherson
A dark, twisty, claustrophobic read
Jo Spain
I raced through it - edgy, tense
Harriet Tyce
Gripping, unpredictable and immensely satisfying
Sophie Hannah
Incredibly well-written, deliciously sinister and full of dark humour
Allie Reynolds