We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Ruin

Kate O'Brien Award, 2019

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781405540230

Price: £19.99

ON SALE: 8th March 2018

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

***THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER***

‘Spectacularly good’ MARIAN KEYES
‘Heartbreaking’ CAZ FREAR
‘Terrific’ LIZ NUGENT

*****
Cormac Reilly is about to reopen a case it took him twenty years to forget

On his first week on the job, Garda Cormac Reilly responds to a call at a decrepit country house to find two silent, neglected children waiting for him – fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lies dead upstairs.

Twenty years later, Cormac has left his high-flying career as a detective in Dublin and returned to Galway. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him.

What ties a recent suicide to the woman’s death so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust?

*****

This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can’t – or won’t. Perfect for fans of Tana French, Jane Casey, Liz Nugent, Susie Steiner and Caz Frear.

*****
Praise for THE RUIN:

Absolutely brilliant. Wonderful characters, authentic setting, and a sublime, twisty plot’ IRISH EXAMINER

‘Heartbreaking and heart-stopping’ CAZ FREAR

‘THE RUIN is as convincing as it is multi-layered, as compelling as it is complex . . . Dervla is a future star of the genre CHRIS BROOKMYRE

‘Fans of Tana French will love McTiernan’s expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden’ KAREN DIONNE

There are not many books that will keep me reading from start to finish but Dervla McTiernan’s THE RUIN did just that . . . An excellent story, very well written . . . this one was a winner for me! ALEX GRAY

‘Loved every page . . . Cormac Reilly is a brilliant new character, so real you can hear his footsteps on the stairs. Utterly gripping, brilliantly executed story’ SAM BLAKE

‘Intelligent, compassionate and believable’ SINEAD CROWLEY

Reviews

Absolutely brilliant. Wonderful characters, authentic setting, and a sublime, twisty plot
Irish Examiner
Corruption, clandestine cover-ups and criminal conspiracy ... as moving as it is fast-paced
Val McDermid
Bravo! The Ruin is a terrific read!
Liz Nugent
An exciting new voice in Irish noir
Sunday Times (Crime Club)
I can't wait to read the next one . . . a star crime writer is born!
Books Ireland
A very fine novel . . . excellently written and, at times, heartcatchingly sad
Marian Keyes
Loved every page. Cormac Reilly is a brilliant new character, so real you can hear his footsteps on the stairs. Utterly gripping, brilliantly executed story. Serious contender for Irish Crime Novel of the Year
Sam Blake
I tore through The Ruin, desperate to unravel the mystery that Dervla so cleverly lays out. Heartbreaking and heart-stopping in equal measure, it's an incredibly well-crafted, complex tale and yet remarkably easy to read, such is the subtle brilliance of the plotting . . . Dervla maintains the suspense all the way through, yet never at the expense of plausibility. She's sure to become one of my go-to authors!
Caz Frear
Fans of Tana French will love McTiernan's expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden
Karen Dionne
Intelligent, compassionate and believable
Sinead Crowley
Brilliantly crafted . . . incredibly real-feeling characters. An absolute treat!
Sunday Mirror
A crime writer of promise
RTE Guide
There are not many books that will keep me reading from start to finish but Dervla McTiernan's The Ruin did just that . . . An excellent story, very well written . . . this one was a winner for me!
Alex Gray
An absorbing tale
Irish Times
Instantly hauling the reader into its permanently charged atmosphere, The Ruin is as convincing as it is multi-layered, as compelling as it is complex, and heralds the arrival of Dervla McTiernan as a future star of the genre
Chris Brookmyre

The Cormac Reilly Series