We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Phone for the Fish Knives

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781405550659

Price: £19.99

ON SALE: 17th June 2021

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

‘Daisy Waugh’s featherlight satires are as refreshing and uplifting as a glass of chilled vintage champagne. . . Imagine Agatha Christie on laughing gas’ Times

The Todes are back, and they’re taking on Hollywood . . .

When Hollywood wants to do a remake of the film that made Tode Hall famous, India and Egbert are delighted. They envisage a summer of free money and star-studded dinner parties ahead . . .

But the Hall is soon overrun by wardrobe trucks and catering tents, and lusty, insecure actors squabbling about nudity clauses. When the movie’s producers threaten to sue over the exact colour of Tode Hall’s rolling lawns, India and Egbert realise that having a film crew on their doorstep isn’t such a breeze after all. With so many egos in one place things were bound to end badly, but no one would have predicted quite so literal a backstabbing . . .

‘A glorious satire on aristocratic manners and mores, with a smidgeon of murder thrown in, Waugh’s hilarious and entirely original twist on the country house murder mystery is ‘a perfect antidote to all the real-life craziness going on’ Daily Mail

Praise for the Todes

‘Witty, well-written and determinedly entertaining . . . the perfect book for the staycation’ Catholic Herald

‘I couldn’t put it down’ Santa Montefiore

‘A delightful treat’ The Lady

‘Deliciously entertaining’ Andrew Wilson

‘An irresistible champagne bubble of pleasure and laughter’ Rachel Johnson

‘A perfect antidote to wintry gloom’ The Literary Review

What a triumph!’ Antonia Fraser

‘A masterclass in how to write a rollicking good read’ Sarah Vine

‘A jolly farce that never takes itself too seriously’ Red Magazine

‘Fizzles, crackles and sparkles’ Elizabeth Buchan

‘A work of sublime silliness’ Simon Brett

‘An effervescent madcap whodunnit’ Metro

‘A marvellous rollicking read’ Mary Killen

‘She’s skewered her targets brilliantly’ Imogen Edwards-Jones

‘This contemporary take on a golden age mystery is simply wonderful.’ Belfast Telegraph

Reviews

Praise for the Todes of Tode Hall series:
Fans of PG Wodehouse and Agatha Christie should bag this madcap comedy whodunnit . . . Outrageous and over-the-top, a perfect antidote to all real-life craziness going on
Daily Mail
It's sharp, funny and just the right amount of farcical - the best sort of murder mystery
Tatler
I couldn't put it down
Santa Montefiore
What a triumph! It gave me enormous pleasure to read, plus of course a few appropriate shudders. [In the Crypt] lightens the darkness in a way that is both dark and light
Antonia Fraser
An irresistible champagne bubble of pleasure and laughter
Rachel Johnson
Agatha Christie but with a bit of Julian Fellowes's Snobs and Downtown Abbey thrown in . . . A masterclass in how to write a rollicking good read
Sarah Vine
A jolly farce that never takes itself too seriously
Red Magazine
Fizzles, crackles and sparkles
Elizabeth Buchan
An irresistible, high-camp crime caper - deliciously entertaining
Andrew Wilson
A perfect antidote to wintry gloom
The Literary Review
A country-house murder mystery with nods to Agatha Christie and Evelyn Waugh . . . a delightful treat
The Lady
An effervescent madcap whodunnit
Metro
A work of sublime silliness. The knife-edge between crime and comedy is a tricky one, but Daisy Waugh negotiates it magnificently . . . a delightful book, witty, pacy and beautifully written
Simon Brett
This is a marvellous rollicking read with brilliantly drawn characters. I finished it within 24 hours
Mary Killen
She's spot on; she's skewered her targets brilliantly
Imogen Edwards-Jones