We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Verdict

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781405549035

Price: £19.99

ON SALE: 18th February 2021

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

‘Gripping, unpredictable and immensely satisfying’ Sophie Hannah

‘A dark, original and twisted story of revenge’ Fiona Cummins

‘The type of book that keeps you up at night, that you don’t want to put down’ Zoe Lea
_______________

One morning, a jury summons arrives on Natalie’s doorstep.

She is one of twelve people to decide whether a man is innocent or guilty of a horrific crime.

But in the weeks after the trial, Natalie can’t shake the feeling that the verdict was a terrible mistake. That they let a guilty man walk free.

So when she crosses paths with the accused by chance, she decides to do whatever it takes to find the truth.

Because as Natalie knows, sometimes you have to take justice into your own hands . . .
_______________

A dark, addictive thriller about obsession and revenge which will grip you from the first page to the last. Perfect for fans of Blood Orange by Harriet Tyce and Apple Tree Yard by Louise Doughty.

What everyone is saying about C. J. Cooper’s thrillers:

‘I raced through it – edgy, tense’
Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange

‘I for one am terrified of the woman next door!’
Louise Candlish, author of Our House

‘Dark, twisty, claustrophobic’
Jo Spain, author of The Confession

‘Sharp and sweetly twisted’
Caroline England, author of Betray Her

‘Intricately plotted, this gripping thriller is written with great style’
Lisa Ballantyne, author of The Guilty One

‘Intuitive and addictive’
Alison Bruce, author of I Did It For Us

‘I couldn’t put it down – such a gripping read’
Zoe Lea, author of The Secretary

Reviews

Gripping, unpredictable and immensely satisfying
Sophie Hannah
A dark, original and twisted story of revenge that is beautifully written and brilliantly executed. CJ Cooper does not put a foot wrong.
Fiona Cummins
Praise for C. J. Cooper's debut, The Book Club:
A dark, twisty, claustrophobic read
Jo Spain
Immensely entertaining . . . grips and chills in equal measures
Cath Weeks
I for one am terrified of the woman next door!
Louise Candlish
I raced through it - edgy, tense
Harriet Tyce
Intricately plotted, this gripping thriller is written with great style and has a host of wonderful characters to be loved and hated in equal measure
Lisa Ballantyne
Clever, gripping and gutsy with an unreliable narrator who I trusted and doubted in equal measures, knowing anything could and would happen
Cath Weeks
An irresistible slow descent into darkness, with twist upon twist upon twist. C.J. Cooper's page-turner debut kept on surprising me right to the end
Catriona McPherson
A fabulous, page-turning read . . . Highly recommended!
Caroline England
I loved this book; it got me hooked right from the first page. Natalie's voice is compelling, she is such a good protagonist. Seeing the world from her viewpoint was captivating, especially when all the twists and turns began. I found myself gripped, turning the pages, not knowing what was to come next. It's the type of book that keeps you up at night, that you don't want to put down, and I raced to get to the end to see how it would all turn out
Zoe Lea
I loved this book - tightly plotted, edge-of-seat gripping
Sophie Hannah
A sharp and sweetly twisted protagonist I couldn't help but cheer on
Caroline England
Intuitive and addictive
Alison Bruce