Browse

The Ruin

Dervla McTiernan

Published on: 06/09/2018

Genre: , ,


CORMAC REILLY IS ABOUT TO REOPEN A CASE IT TOOK HIM TWENTY YEARS TO FORGET . . . 

On his first week on the job, Garda Cormac Reilly responds to a call at a decrepit country house to find two silent, neglected children waiting for him – fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lies dead upstairs.

Twenty years later, Cormac has left his high-flying career as a detective in Dublin and returned to Galway. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him.

What ties a recent suicide to the woman’s death so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust?

This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can’t – or won’t. Perfect for fans of Tana French, Jane Casey, Liz Nugent, Susie Steiner and Caz Frear.



You Might Also Like:

Broken Ground

The Mechanical Devil

Truly Evil

Still Dark

Die of Shame


About the author:

Dervla McTiernan

Dervla McTiernan was born in County Cork, Ireland to a family of seven. She studied corporate law at the National University of Ireland, Galway and the Law Society of Ireland, and practiced as a lawyer for twelve years. Following the global financial crisis she moved with her family to Western Australia, where she now works […]


Click to see Crime Vault reader reviews

Currently no reviews

Leave your review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use limited HTML for formatting your review and linking

*