Die of Shame

Mark Billingham

Published on: 23/03/2017

Genre: , , ,

Every Monday evening, six people gather in a smart North London house to talk about addiction. There they share their deepest secrets: stories of lies, regret, and above all, shame.

Then one of them is killed – and it’s clear one of the circle was responsible.

Detective Inspector Nicola Tanner quickly finds her investigation hampered by the strict confidentiality that binds these people and their therapist together. So what could be shameful enough to cost someone their life?

And how do you find the truth when denial and deception are second nature to all of your suspects?


From number one bestseller Mark Billingham – author of Time of Death and In the Dark, both soon to be major BBC series – comes the year’s most surprising crime novel, a compelling story of betrayal, deceit and violent death.

You Might Also Like:

Love Like Blood

The Mystery of the Stolen Brides: An Inspector Dearborn case

Invitation to a Dynamite Party

Mad Hatter’s Holiday


About the author:

Mark Billingham

Mark Billingham is the author of many bestselling novels and the creator of the Tom Thorne series. He has twice won the Theakstons Old Peculier prize for best novel of the year. He lives in North London with his family. Read the Tom Thorne series.

Click to see Crime Vault reader reviews

Currently 1 review
  1. Lesley Mumbray:

    Just finished Mark Billingham’s latest, Die of Shame. It is a stand-alone, not part of the Tom Thorne series and is a compelling, can’t put it down, read which I really enjoyed. There is a great mix of characters, some of them odder than others, and some of the stylish plot twists and turns which fans of Mark’s writing have come to expect. Buy, read and enjoy! Can’t wait to see Mark in July at Harrogate and get him to sign my copy…

  2. May 20th, 2016 at 11:57 am

Leave your review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use limited HTML for formatting your review and linking